Yanis Varoufakis: You can like him or hate him but you cannot ignore him!

The title of this post says it all.

I have been and I still am a supporter of Yanis Varoufakis. But my support is selective. I support his ideas, his intellect, his intelligence and the way that he is willing to challenge the status quo. And most of all, I have admired the fact that, in the past, he has not just given criticism. He has always had some suggestion or other to make to address whatever subject he was challenging.

But I do not support any small-mindedness, attention seeking or excuse-making on his part. I am waiting for the “old” Yanis to come back, if that is possible. We all change, as circumstances force changes upon us, and I can accept that. But basic, sound principles must remain.

And it is for this reason that it is important to embrace the negative comments as well as the positive ones. By this I mean constructive, well-meaning negative comments. I have no time for insults or crude remarks. In my book, criticism is important when debating any subject. We must not get blinded by our own dogma and always be open to consider alternative points of view.

So, for an alternative point of view of Yanis Varoufakis, I present to you the blog of Pim from the Netherlands:

Contradicting Yanis

Read the posts and make up your own mind!

About Peter Smith

A "foot-soldier" in the wider Post Capitalism Movement. First task - keep spreading the words of change, hope & inspiration.
This entry was posted in Greece and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yanis Varoufakis: You can like him or hate him but you cannot ignore him!

  1. Pingback: Yanis Varoufakis: in his own words | Thoughts on European Politics & Economics

Leave a Reply

