Re-Inventing the Wheel and other Original Ideas

If anyone has had the interest to read my blog from the beginning, you will probably be starting to think that I don’t have any original ideas of my own, since I keep referring to other people’s blogs and including their articles on my blog.

Let me be clear on this. I am no expert on economics or politics. So, whatever I write is just my personal opinion based upon what I read & learn elsewhere. Just like many other people, I guess. So if I write any nonsense, I expect to be challenged. However, there is an objective that I wish to achieve.

Like many of you, I feel the need to add my weight (a few extra kilos around my waist every month, to my dismay) to the growing call for a new deal in Europe (a wide enough description to avoid putting myself into a small pigeonhole). Then I found myself drawn into this blogging thing after posting a few comments on another blog written by Ioannis Glinavos. I believe that change is required. In order to bring this change about, I must contribute something. At the moment, that something is to keep spreading the words of change, hope & inspiration.

Some years back, I “discovered” Yanis Varoufakis and I have been an avid follower of his ever since. When Yanis entered into politics at the beginning of this year, this subsequently led me to follow the unfolding story of Syriza’s rise to glory after they won the elections in Greece, until the point to where we are today. So I have had an amateur’s crash-course in Economics & EU politics.

Now, it seems to me that it is pointless to try to re-invent the wheel, so to speak. There are many bloggers out there who have brilliant ideas and who have formulated plenty of creative and practical solutions to our problems. I do not intend to poach any of their material and try to pass it off as my own. I have become one of Bill Mitchell’s blogging disciples. Bill says on his blog…spread the word! And that is what I intend to do.

As you will all know, it is necessary to change your BlogRoll from time to time. Not least of all because there is so much “BS” being spread around these days.

So here is a new addition. I have just discovered the blog of Pavlos Papageorgiou:

Pavlos’s Thoughts – one person’s small contribution to public life

Pavlos has written a lot of excellent articles to date and I guess there are more to come. He has placed a diagram of where he stands in the political spectrum on his blog, which gave me a good laugh:

http://pavlos.geekhost.org/about/

I am certainly glad to see that he is much closer to Chomsky than to Bush, otherwise he wouldn’t have heard from me again! All of his articles are highly recommended and worth a read. And some of them I intend to repost here in the future.

Bienvenidos Pavlos!

About Peter Smith

A "foot-soldier" in the wider Post Capitalism Movement. First task - keep spreading the words of change, hope & inspiration.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Re-Inventing the Wheel and other Original Ideas

  1. Pingback: Greece and Europe are in a Confrontation over Democracy | Thoughts on European Politics & Economics

Leave a Reply

