Let’s get Started!

To kick things off on my new blog, I thought that it might be a good idea to point anyone who has stumbled across here, to a few good websites & blogs that, I would say, are in alignment with my point of view or are at least entertaining in a serious sort of way.

Before you hit the “Back” key, just hang on a minute and offer me a few minutes of your time. I may surprise you.

On the righthand side of your screen you will see my BlogRoll. What a title! And apt I may add, if the “you know what” in Europe is about to hit the fan. If you don’t mind me saying so, I will only be giving a punt to the cream of the crop. By this I mean that I consider their contributions to be of the highest order to understand the problems we are facing and to offer practical solutions. Check out their Bio’s. I always do, just to ensure that I am not being misled by the ramblings of a nutcase. Maybe you will not always agree with everything that you read, and that’s the point. We need a continuous debate. Reforming and honing our ideas. The world doesn’t stop and critical thinking should not stop either.

By now, you have all heard of Yanis Varoufakis. You may like him or hate him, but I don’t think that you can ignore him (as the Eurogroup soon found out to their dismay).

Bill Mitchell’s blog is always interesting. His articles are full of facts & figures, but he writes in an easy to read manner. You will also find much educational stuff on Modern Monetary Theory there. This is a bit heavy to get to grips with in the beginning, but it is useful to know where to find this kind of stuff when you are ready to further your knowledge.

PositiveMoney and SovereignMoney both deal with similar subjects – the reform of the current monetary & banking systems that we have today. Plenty of ideas there. This may seem like pie-in-the-sky stuff, but if we keep pushing at the door, momentum can gather and something may change.

RadicalEconomicThought – I really like Matt’s blog. He has been putting forward some really good ideas backed up with proper facts how these would work. And it is not Rocket Science either – these are ideas that even I can understand and I am an engineer (ha! ha! polite applause and sniggers from the audience).

Last but by no means least, my friend iGlinavos (if I may be so bold to presume that). It was his blog that got me started with this whole blogging thing. Finally, after reading most of his articles on the Greek crisis, I just could not stop myself from responding with a comment. And the blogging thing has gone downhill from then (if you know what I mean). He states that he writes political commentary and academic trivia. Well, I can assure you that it is more interesting than that. But it’s not entertainment. He pulls no punches and calls to account those who are supposed to working on “our side”. I like that…the rebel’s conscience (my phrase, not his).

So, get started…….time is not on our side.

About Peter Smith

A "foot-soldier" in the wider Post Capitalism Movement. First task - keep spreading the words of change, hope & inspiration.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

